Fried Green Tomatoes

Fried Green Tomatoes

Probably not the healthiest side dish but I had to try them. For two reasons: One, I have never tried fried green tomatoes and my curiosity was killing me about how something like this tastes. Two we just cleaned out our garden and their were still a lot of green tomatoes on the vine that I felt bad about throwing away. I used this recipe except we did not have any cornmeal and I left that out (which I would not recommend doing). Next year I will be ready and try them with cornmeal.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised by the combination of the sourness and fried batter. Another surprise was that some of the tomatoes turned yellow from the heat. That was pretty cool!

 

Leave a Reply

