Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake

IMG_6134

 

This is a no dairy cheesecake. I do not like cheesecakes in general and Sashenka hates the crust that they are always made out of. But the name is deceiving because this tastes nothing like a cheesecake and it shouldn’t! This is a vegan pumpkin cake that I got from RenegadeHealth.com  . Since lately I am not eating dairy I still want dessert once in a while and the hardest thing to find without dairy is dessert in my opinion. At first I thought it would be breakfast but then there is always coconut yogurt and oatmeal that I love so much. So breakfast was not a problem. Back to the pumpkin cake. I did not follow the recipe exactly and made my own crust and omitted the topping. Why? Would I not love to try a crust made from buckwheat and White Chocolate Buckwheat Crunch Topping? Of course I would have loved to try a cake made with such delicious ingredients but I didn’t make it. For two reasons: One I do not have a dehydrator and was out of buckwheat and cacao butter and two I was too lazy to make the topping(oops that’s 3 reasons). Maybe on my third try when I find coconut butter, cacao butter, and figure out a way to make dehydrated buckwheat, then I will follow the recipe strictly and will make this delicious cake!

On my first try I did not have coconut butter and just omitted it and added more coconut oil. And on the second time that I made this I used coconut cream. The first time with just coconut oil it tasted a lot better. The coconut cream was nasty and I did not enjoy the second cake that I made. I really want to find the coconut butter to make this cake what it should. But overall I enjoyed how this cake turned out and most importantly Sashenka liked it as well. Anything that passes his approval gets 5 stars in my book!

I made the crust from soaked prunes, pecans, flax seeds, almonds, and coconut oil. Blending all of the ingredients together and pressing them into the pan.

Leave a Reply

