Coconut Macaroons

IMG_6842

I didn’t know these were called macaroons. My belle-sœur (sister-in-law sounds prettier in French), Innachka, made these when we were in the mountains for Christmas. Everyone referred to them as ‘coconut cookies’ and liked them! Later I found out that these are macaroons. I always thought macaroons were sweet meringue-based cookies. But, as it turns out, there is a difference between a macaroon and a macaron. The sweet meringue based cookie is a French macaron and what I made is a coconut macaroon. Anyways back to the story… Innachka made them before dinner for dessert but they were gone before everyone sat down to eat. She gave me the recipe since they do not have any dairy. Just coconut, eggs, and sugar. Yes I made them with white sugar. These sweet innocent cookies have white death in them. But they taste so delicious and me not eating dairy I thought I could handle a little of the poison.  To take away a bit of guilt I added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1 whole cup. And they were just as sweet to us! Hope you enjoy these coconut macaroons.

16 oz coconut flakes

4 eggs

1 cup sugar (I used 1/3 cup)

1 tsp vanilla

Coconut oil

Combine everything together in a pan and heat till warm on low while constantly mixing. The mixture should not be hot but warm. Then mix it well with a mixer for five minutes. I think the heating and mixing is done in order for the sugar to melt and mix thoroughly. Refrigerate for an hour.  Preheat the oven to 325°F. Oil a baking sheet with coconut oil, and with a teaspoon make cluster like drops on the baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 min or until the tops begin to golden and before the bottoms burn. Enjoy!

One thought on “Coconut Macaroons

  1. Pingback: Blog Party ~ Simple and Sweet Desserts | Atlantamomofthree

Leave a Reply

